How to Obtain a Crane Operator License?If you want to be licensed, passing the NCCCO test is the process to go through. The NCCCO certification is the most popular in the industry and recognized around the country.

If you are looking to become certified, it is important to know the steps and requirements for obtaining your license. There are many different licenses and certifications that must be obtained before one can operate a crane.

The process of becoming certified in this field may seem daunting at first, but with careful planning and following all regulations, anyone can obtain their certification.

In order to find out more about the specifics of what is required for obtaining a crane operator's license or certification, please read the below information.

In this section, we will cover the process of passing the mobile crane operator and tower crane operator certification examinations and what are the requirement to prepare for it.



Here’s What You Need to Do in Order to Get Certified on Mobile Crane

Step 1: Prepare for the certification examinations

In the construction industry, crane operator training is a must. The best way to prepare for the certification tests is by taking a training course offered by an accredited training school or providers. The schools offer many different types of courses and certifications that will teach you everything from how to operate a crane safely for any type of job, to how to maintain your equipment properly. Click here to find a training school near your location.

Step 2: Pass the NCCCO written test

To become certified in this type of crane, you must be successful in passing the NCCCO core exam and at least one specialty exams on these following types of cranes: Lattice Boom Truck Cranes (LBT), Telescopic Boom Cranes—Swing Cab (TLL), Lattice Boom Crawler Cranes (LBC), Telescopic Boom Cranes—Fixed Cab (TSS).

The core exam consists of 90 multiple choice questions which must be completed within 90 minutes while the specialty exam is composed of 26 questions and you have 60 minutes to take each one.

In the taking the written exam, you have the option to take it through the online or paper-and-pencil method. To know more about the application for written exam, please follow this page

Step 3: Pass the practical test

Many crane operators are required to take the NCCCO Practical Tests. This practical test must be taken within 12 months after passing the written exam. There are 3 specialties or crane types on where you want to be tested, you can choose: the Telescopic Boom Cranes—Fixed Cab (TSS), Lattice Boom Cranes (covering both LBC and LBT), Telescopic Boom Cranes—Swing Cab (TLL).

An actual equipment demonstration is what you have to go through in order to pass this practical exam and it can be taken either at the school facility or at the employer’s job site.



Passing this test can be difficult, but with enough practice and dedication, you will be able to finally work as a crane operator.

If You Want to Be Certified on Tower Crane, to Obtain a Certification

Step 1: Take a tower crane training program

The objective of taking this program is for you to be familiar with the present rules and regulations and learn the skill to operate a tower crane in a proficient and safe manner. The training course will prepare students to pass the certification exams (written and practical).

Step 2: Pass the written exam

If you want to become a crane operator, it is crucial that you pass the tower crane written exam. You must be able to see well in order to read these questions, so make sure your eyesight is up-to-date before starting this process.

In the tower crane written exam, you just have to pass only an exam which is the opposite of the mobile crane certification. The type of exam is multiple choice which has 55 items, examinees have 60 minutes to complete the exam.

Step 3: Pass the practical tests

One of the most important aspects of your job as a crane operator is to make sure that you are properly trained in order to avoid accidents. Making sure you have a working knowledge of all safety procedures and guidelines will help keep not only yourself, but your co-workers and other people around you safe.

That’s why you will be tested for the actual operation of the equipment. You can take the practical test on the following types of cranes: Hammerhead, Self-Erecting and Luffer.

Importance of Taking the Crane Training Program

Training is important for any profession, but it is especially crucial to the crane operator. Training teaches you what equipment works best for your needs and how to use it in a safe manner. It also helps teach you potential risks that may arise on the job so that they can be avoided or mitigated before they become an issue. The employer must provide training as part of their responsibility under OSHA requirements 29 CFR 1926 Subpart CC Section.

If this requirement isn't met, then the company could face fines up to $1 million. Crane operators should always take advantage of training opportunities and ask questions about safety practices if something doesn't seem right. This will help them stay safe while doing their job every day. 



How Long Does the NCCCO certification Valid for?

In order to operate a crane, you need to have an NCCCO certification that is valid for at least 5 years. The initial process of obtaining a crane operator license or certification can take time, and so it's important to get started as soon as possible in order to avoid any delays.

To maintain certification, you will need: you must pass the certification exams which are taken every 5 years, and remain in adherence with the medical and ethical requirements of the NCCCO.

States and Cities That Have Separate Licensing Requirements

Please keep in mind that the state or city where you are working may have a separate licensing requirement before you can begin working in this location. Presently, the cities the require licensing are Philadelphia, Washington DC, Chicago, New York City, New Orleans, and Omaha, while the states are following Montana, California, Hawaii, Maryland, Connecticut, Minnesota, Nevada, Pennsylvania, New Mexico, New York, New Jersey, North Carolina, Utah, Washington, West Virginia and Rhode Island.

To Make a Conclusion

Crane operators are required to be certified and licensed before they can operate cranes. This certification is crucial for the safety of crane operators, as well as those around them that could potentially be harmed by their work.

To apply for a license, inquire with the licensing authority in your state or city. Licensing and certification both taking an exam after meeting certain requirements. After passing the test, you’ll receive your certificate of competency in order to legally work with cranes.

Get Your Forklift Certificate Today

Crane Training FAQ